Raw Strawberry Buckwheat Porridge

by Bella

For me, it’s hard to beat almost any smoothie as my breakfast of choice, but Raw Buckwheat Porridge always comes out on top. Like a smoothie, it gives me a boost of energy. I always know the night before that I’m going to have buckwheat porridge for breakfast, because I have to soak the raw groats (Actually, Jack does it for me). When I wake up, and I know that I have that to look forward too, I jump out of bed and anxiously wait for Jack and Bo to get up too. The sound of the food processor will wake them, so I have to wait for what seems to be an excruciatingly long time for them to get up (it’s usually only about 1/2 hour to an hour – I’m hardly going to starve) before I can fire that puppy up and then tuck in to the creamy, fruity, refreshing deliciousness that is Raw Buckwheat Porridge. I’m salivating as I type this.

Do you see the spoon in the picture. I found it very difficult to wait. I had to get Bo to take these shots for me, and to stop me sneaking a bite and making a mess of the bowl.

I use the freshest, most vibrant, and sweet berries that I can find.

True raw foodests will have spotted the toasted coconut (not raw). The great thing about this recipe is that it can be done COMPLETELY raw, gluten-free and in a multitude of varieties, everyone of them yummiful. Yes! I just made that word up. When something tastes this good, there are no existing words to describe.  The recipe is for strawberry porridge, but you can substitute any berry you want. For that matter, you can change up or omit the pecans for your nuts of choice, and put in any variety of seeds, replace the banana and/or apple with juicy pears. It can also be topped off with granola or made creamier with a non-dairy yogurt in place of non-dairy milk. Experiment until you find your favorite.

Raw Strawberry Buckwheat Porridge

1/4 cup raw (gluten-free) buckwheat groats (soaked overnight)

3/4 cup fresh berries of your choice

1 medium size ripe banana

1/2 small apple

small handful of pecans

splash of vanilla

dash of pink Himalayan sea salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

small handful of shredded coconut

enough coconut milk to get a creamy consistency

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp ground flax

toasted coconut flakes, pecans and strawberries for garnish

Soak the buckwheat overnight. In the morning rinse thoroughly until no more frothy bubbles appear. Place groats in food processor and process until a paste starts to form (add a little coconut milk if needed so you don’t burn out the motor). Toss in the banana, apple and then strawberries and then add the vanilla, salt, cinnamon, pecans and shredded coconut with the rest of the coconut milk. Process until well combined, creamy and a little bit runny. Scoop out into your serving bowl, then ass the chia and flax, This is why you made it a bit runny, so that there’s enough liquid for the chia seeds and ground flax to soak up. Let it sit for as long as you can wait to thicken (for me that’s only about 10 minutes that feel like forever), then garnish with strawberries, pecans and coconut flakes.

Leave a comment