Weird dream and beet greens smoothie

by Bella

Other than music and dance, what do Footloose and The Producers have in common? Absolutely nothing, until my whacked-out imagination randomly decided to combine the two in a dream.

About a month ago, I mentioned that I was going to blog about this, but then I suddenly, out of nowhere got the motivation to finally add a links page to my blog, so I posted about that ‘exciting’ topic instead. I keep getting visuals from the dream popping up at random times, like during staff meetings, that make me giggle. I figure this keeps happening because I have to get this out there.

Are you ready?

Picture this….

blended with this..

and you’ll have some idea of how unrelated these 2 things are.

I only remember snippets. The thing that stands out the most is the image of Kevin Bacon in his undershirt, grooving a Hitler ‘stache.

Don’t judge me!

My subconscious was out of control. Other than a whole lot of singing and dancing, there wasn’t any story line.

What do you think it means? I’d be interested to know.

To bring things back to earth, I have to share this over the moon delicious recipe that I threw together as randomly as my brain threw together that dream.

I had never tried beet greens before, after hearing about smoothies with iron rich beet greens from Raw Food YouTubers and bloggers like Emily von Euw of this Rawsome Vegan Life, Ka Sundance, ShaktiGoddess, Fully Raw Kristina and Dara, I decided to give it a go.

When I started, I had no idea what beet greens would taste like, so I just grabbed some things that I had on hand, tossed them together and hoped for the best. What I got was so amazingly dreamy and invigorating, that I forgot to take a picture until it was nearly all gone.

This was all that remained of a whole pitcher full. I struggled to stop sucking it back to take this picture. Sorry it’s blurry. It’s amazing that I got a picture at all.

Beet Green Smoothie

Greens from approximately 4 beets (about 2-3 cups)

3 medium size bananas (frozen or not. I used fresh and ripe)

1/2 cup cherries (frozen or not. I used frozen)

3/4 cup flavored yogurt of your choice (I used drinkable banana strawberry. Note: use dairy alternative yogurt for vegans)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

about 1 1/2 cups of water (coconut water if you prefer)

Load the bananas in the bottom of the blender with yogurt, vanilla and water, then top with cinnamon cherries and beet greens. Blend until smooth then try to be civilized enough to pour it into a jar or glass, because it’s going to be tempting to drink it straight from the pitcher.

Leave a Reply

