Vegan, gluten free pumpkin bread muffins – YUM! – Cold weather – YUCK!

by Bella

Ugh! Winter. I am not a fan. When you live in a cold climate you have to have more crap just so you don’t freeze to death.

I resent having to have a coat, boots, gloves, hat, scarf, etc. What’s worse is having to put all that stuff on, then peal it all off over and over again. From the theme of the blog, you can probably tell, that I like things to be simple, and winter is not simple.

We live in a nice place, surrounded by nice people. I like my job, Bo is doing well with school. The summers here are amazingly beautiful, though a bit short. It’s just the winter that I gripe about; it’s for all of the other things that we stay and put up with it.

So from the minimalist perspective, what does that mean. It means that we have to have the bare minimum in winter stuff to keep us comfortable. There’s one snow shovel, one scraper for the windshield, and each of us has one set of winter gear. We try to wear mostly the same clothes year round, but we layer it up to stay warm in winter.

There are some perks that come with the cooler weather, like no bugs. My favorite thing has to be warm, delicious foods. Don’t get me wrong. If I lived in a warm climate with abundant fruits and veggies, I would eat raw vegan food quite happily. Since I don’t live in that environment, I adapt to what’s seasonally available. Right now there are loads of pumpkins and they’re pretty cheap. I do love me some pumpkin bread so I whipped up some soft, warm pumpkin read muffins.

I made a pumpkin bread recipe and put it in muffin tins to make them easy to grab n go.

Just put batter in muffin cups and bake for on-the-go pumpkin bread.

Pumpkin Bread/Muffins (makes 9-12 muffins)

  • 1 1/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar or coconut sugar
  • 3/4 cup nut milk of your choice
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup cooked, mashed pumpkin
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbs ground flax mixed with 3 tbsp water)

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease muffin pan or line with paper cups.

In a large bowl, mix wet ingredients: sugar and flax egg together then add coconut oil, nut milk,  and finally mashed pumpkin mixing to combine after each addition.

Now in a medium size bowl,mix the rest of the ingredients together (flours, baking powder, and raisins) and gradually add this dry mixture to the wet mixture. Stir only until fully combined. Add water if mixture is too thick and dry. Do not over stir.

Spoon batter into muffin cups. Top with crushed nuts. I used pecans. They taste deliciously different when they’ve been baked. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Let cool for as long as you can stand to wait before tucking into ’em.

Leave a Reply

